h1

Mommessin Beaujolais ‘Grande Reserve’

February 11, 2009

I’m a sucker for flashy packaging, so there was no way I could pass up this red. Not only was it a Beaujolais (a wine I’ve always enjoyed), but it comes in a neat aluminum bottle and features a little dot on the label that tells you when the wine is chilled. Even though the rest of graphics on the label did nothing for me (clearly it’s not aimed at my marketing demographic) I couldn’t resist this wine.

So I took it home, dropped it in the fridge and when the little dot turned blue, I filled a glass and toasted the end of winter. The colour was beautiful, a really neat shade of red. And yes, the nose has the typical hint of bananas that Beaujolais often shows off, along with some spices and fruit.
 
Clocking in at a mere 12% ABV, this wine is very light and dry. Not a lot of acidity and very few tannins to get in the way of the soft red berry flavours. The finish was a bit short but that didn’t matter. It’s so light and drinkable that you can just take another sip.
 
There are lots of other things to like here. I love the aluminum bottle because it’s light, easily recyclable and it chills the wine faster. The whole “Cool Dot” thing is really nice too. It’s always good to know when your wine reaches the perfect temperature.
 
So kudos to Mommessin for their innovative packaging and the Cool Dot. You’ll find this wine at your local LC along with the companion Chardonnay for only $13.95.
 
Overall, did I like it? Yes, but not now. This isn’t a wine for February. It’s too light and soft for the cold days of late winter. But come June or July, I think this well-priced little red will be a regular in my fridge. My only issue is the use of the term “Grande Reserve” on the label. It sounds rather grand, but I don’t think this has anything to do with actual French wine laws.
 
And on another note, I’ve never recommended any books in this blog. No real reason, just that I haven’t gotten around to it yet. So I’ll start by recommending ‘A Year of Wine’, the new book by Tyler Colman (a.k.a Dr. Vino). It’s all about the seasonal enjoyment of wine, something I really appreciate.
 
His writing style keeps your attention and he brings a fresh perspective to the topic of wine. I’m about a third of the way into it and am just loving it. It’s a fabulous read and is highly recommended.

3 comments

  1. […] Wine in the ‘Peg recommends A Year of Wine as their first wine book ever recommended! They dig the seasonal enjoyment of wine and say, “His writing style keeps your attention and he brings a fresh perspective to the topic of wine. I’m about a third of the way into it and am just loving it. It’s a fabulous read and is highly recommended.” […]


  2. […] Wine in the ‘Peg recommends A Year of Wine as their first wine book ever recommended! They dig the seasonal enjoyment of wine and say, “His writing style keeps your attention and he brings a fresh perspective to the topic of wine. I’m about a third of the way into it and am just loving it. It’s a fabulous read and is highly recommended.” […]


  3. You know, I looked at that bottle the other day when I was in the LC, and I was interested in trying it out, but didn’t have the gusto to try it out when it was -20C out. If it’s still around in the summer, I think I’ll give it a shot! Thanks Alec!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

