h1

Quick update

September 2, 2005

Apologies for the total absence of posts recently. We took possession of our new house last Friday, which has kept me a little busy. And with recent events on the Gulf Coast, I have to admit that wine blogging has not been the first thing on my mind.

I do have a quick tasting note for you though. More to follow soon, including a fantastic red blend from Bogle Vineyards and some new sparkling wine from Australia. But here’s my take on the newest addition to the Yellowtail clan:

Yellowtail Semillon-Sauvignon Blanc

The classic Bordeaux blend meets the Australian marketing machine. I was a little suspicious at first, since I had a hard time imagining a fruit-bomb Sem/Sauv blend. But it worked surprisingly well, and might just be the first Yellowtail wine that I have actually enjoyed.

Lots of herbal notes and a hint of minerals in the nose, which carried through well to the mouth. There were some ripe fruit flavours, and a very appealing softness to the wine. The long finish made it the perfect antidote to a long afternoon of moving boxes into our new house. It wasn’t as crisp as I’d expect from this varietal blend, but it most certainly wasn’t a fruit bomb. At $12.95, this is a nice, easy-drinking white, and would be perfect served up cold on the back porch.

Leave a Reply

