h1

Bliss in a glass

December 16, 2005

No, I’m not waxing poetic here. I just thought I’d write about the wine currently residing in my glass. As you might have guessed from the title, it’s called “Bliss”. More accurately, it’s the “Bliss” 2002 Cabernet Sauvignon, which hails from the sunny hillsides of Mendocino County (California).

To be honest, there’s nothing really special about it. It does have lots of nice light fruit (strawberries and raspberries), and very few (if any) tannins. A nice sweet nose and a long finish make it enjoyable. It’s very easy-drinking, and will probably go well with the big pot of chicken vegetable soup currently bubbling away on the stove.

But for $15.13 at the MLCC, it’s pricey compared to other wines in this class. There are plenty of great Cabernets priced around $15. Even the Little Penguin Cabernet shows more varietal character. And if I want a real Californian experience, I can find any number of decent California Cabernets for just a few dollars more. In fact, I recently picked up the J. Lohr Seven Oaks Cabernet for $22 and change at the Kenaston Wine Market. That one is being saved for Christmas dinner though.

In other news, I tasted the 2004 Spy Valley Riesling (New Zealand) while I was visiting DeLuca’s this afternoon. At $23, it’s a notch above what I would normally pay for a Riesling, except that it was simply amazing and worth the price. I only had a tiny glass while standing up in a busy store, so I’ll wait to post notes until I have had time to enjoy this one. And I plan to pick one up for myself as a holiday treat!

Leave a Reply

