h1

Holiday wines

December 23, 2005

Looks like all of my good intentions to keep this blog updated have gone out the window. I hope to be blogging more regularly in the New Year, but this will likely be my last post until after Christmas.

My basement is full of good wine right now, so I hope to have some tasting notes ready for next week. Just off the top of my head, here is what will be gracing my table at Christmas.

Segura Viudas Reserve Brut (Spain)

This is my house bubbly. Not a holiday goes by without a bottle of this chilling in the fridge. It’s loaded with toasty goodness and stands up against many more expensive bubblies. Don’t let this one pass you by. Made by the fine folks at Freixenet (who know their bubbly), it’s only $12.71 at the MLCC, but worth far more.

Mirassou Chardonnay (Monterey County, California)

On Christmas Day, we’re having a decidedly non-traditional meal of seabass with a scallop and shrimp risotto on the side. The obvious choice is a Chardonnay, and I hope this cool-climate Chard does the trick. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it, so I am looking forward to filling my glass. $18 at most private wine stores.

J. Lohr “Seven Oaks” Cabernet Sauvignon

One of my all-time favourite Cabernets, the J. Lohr Seven Oaks packs a cherry and oak-laden punch. Big, brawny and oh so tasty. Plus the price went down recently (thanks to the strength of the loonie). $23 at private wine stores.

Peter Lehmann Barossa Shiraz-Grenache

If you’re looking for a red wine to pair with turkey (which I’m not), you would do well to pick up this little treat from Peter Lehmann. It’s got all of the spicy Shiraz goodness you expect, but the addition of some Grenache helps to lighten it up and reduce the fruit-bomb factor. Priced at just under $17, it’s also a good bargain. And it has a screwtop (a.k.a Stelvin closure), which makes the whole process of opening it a lot less complicated.

Penfolds “Club” Tawny Port (Australia)

This really is fruitcake in a glass. I’m a big fan of fruitcake, so it always goes down well. The Penfolds Club shows classic tawny port flavours of dried fruit and caramel, with hints of spice to make it interesting. For under $13, it’s also the best Port bargain out there. You’ll find it at the Kenaston Wine Market.

So there you have it. More wines will likely be opened throughout the season, but these are the ones that I have planned for now. Enjoy your holidays and look for more regular updates in 2006!

One comment

  1. I don’t know if you’ve had a chance to notice, but a long-lost favorite tawny port has re-appeared at the wine market.
    Hardy’s Whiskers Blake! Just under 24$, also perfect for fruitcake!! Merry Christmas!!



Leave a Reply

