h1

MLCC sale again!

January 12, 2006

It’s sale time again at the MLCC, and there are some serious bargains to be had. I stopped by my local LC last night and picked up a selection of red and white wines – all for $8.99 or $9.99 each.

The discerning wine shopper will be pleased to note that the Fetzer’s low-carb “One 9” California Merlot is now on for $9.99. I had a glass of it last night and really enjoyed it. It’s not as jammy, or as sweet as some New World Merlots can be. If anything, it tasted like a decent French Merlot. Hints of smoke on the nose and a long spicy finish in the mouth make this one worth the price. It’s not your typical California Merlot in any way, but it is crisp, dry and delicious. We had it with some mustard-grilled Arctic char last night, and the pairing worked well.

Robin Garr has some tasting notes on this wine and its companion Chardonnay on his (excellent) Wine Lover’s Page. I think he’s right – in reducing the carb counts, the folks at Fetzer have come up with something that tastes very European. I’ll have to make sure to pick up a bottle of the Chardonnay (“One 6”) before it’s all gone.

I also picked up a bottle of Darling Cellars’ “Bush Vine” Sauvignon Blanc (South Africa) for only $8.99. I love South African Sauvignon Blanc and I’ve enjoyed this wine in the past. At $9, it’s a steal. And I got a bottle of the Hardy’s “Nottage Hill” Cabernet-Shiraz for $8.99 too. I’m not crazy about the Nottage Hill range, but there’s nothing wrong with the wines. If you want a cheap-and-cheerful Shiraz, it’s hard to find one at a better price.

My wines were all purchased at the Portage & Burnell MLCC, which is a smaller store. I imagine the bigger stores (Grant Park, Madison Square) might have a better selection of sale wines, but a lot more competition too. Move fast if you want to take advantage of these deals.

One comment

  1. Little Penguin Pinot?
    I had the Lindemans recently, found it very cherry, maybe a little too cherry. I really like Pinot but am usually disappointed with the under $20.

    Was at a local eatery located at The Forks and tried Mark West Pinot, extremely tasty.

    Interested in the Burgundy from New Year’s Eve.



Leave a Reply

