h1

Sauvignon Republic Cellars Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc (2004)

June 20, 2006

I tasted the Sauvignon Republic Cellars Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc (2004 vintage) over the weekend, and it was as good as I had hoped. I’ve already tried (and really enjoyed) their Russian River bottling, so I was curious about this one. And it was worth the $26 I paid (it’s available at several of the private wine stores).

On a side note for a minute, the folks at Sauvignon Republic Cellars are dedicating all of their time and energy to producing Sauvignon Blanc. Given their name, that’s no surprise. They have three wines out right now (NZ, California and one from Stellenbosch in South Africa) and are coming out with a European bottling next spring (likely from the Loire Valley).

The Marlborough was a beautiful golden-green colour, and had nothing but minerals on the nose (more than I had expected from a Marlborough wine). In the mouth, it showed off some very well-balanced citrus and herbal flavours with lots of tangy acidity and a long, almost sweet fruit finish. It didn’t taste as overwhelming as some NZ Sauvignon Blancs that I’ve tried, and that long finish made it a perfect match for food (try oysters or anything with goat cheese for a nice pairing).

I liked the Russian River Sauvignon Blanc a bit more than this one, but I do prefer the California style. But I’m really looking forward to trying the Stellenbosch when (if) it gets to Winnipeg. Keep your eyes on the private wine stores for these wines.

On a side note, I’ll be in Calgary next weekend, and would like to hit at least one or two decent wine stores while I’m there. I haven’t been in Calgary for about three years, so I’d love some advice on interesting new wine stores in or near downtown.

6 comments

  1. You do love your Sauvignon Blanc. Thanks for the tip.


  2. I have both those wienms on the rack waiting for the right moment this summer. I really wanted to try them side by side. Have you cheked out the web-site?


  3. Anonymous: Thank you and no problem – I am always happy to direct folks to a good Sauvignon Blanc or four

    n90 – I have checked out the website, it’s worth a visit. I would be curious to know how you enjoyed these two side by side. I do prefer the Russian River over the Marlborough, but others feel differently.

    I’m really looking forward to the Stellenbosch though!


  4. hmmm, thought I had posted a reply – must of goofed the word verification.

    I plan on trying the 2 Sauvignon Republic Cellars side by side one night in the summer – we are planning a really food friendly menu around the wines. I’ll blog about it after.


  5. When I went to Calgary a couple of years ago, I went to Bin 905 just south of downtown on 2311 4 St SW. Not to be confused with 2311 4 St NW, which really does make a diffrence being in the northern end and all. Really nifty store, filled with a bunch of stuff that you can’t find here. Same with Highlander Wine and Spirits on 2033 16 St NW. My sister lives around there and that’s her shop of choice.


  6. I drove right by Highlander Wine & Spirits, but didn’t stop it. I should have gone there instead of the place I ended up at (on 14th St. NE – I think). They had nice wine but it was very overpriced (Pepperwood Grove for $16 and d’Arenberg’s Laughing Magpie for $40). Although they did have the Jim Barry ‘Cover Drive’ for $23, so all was well that night.

    And I scored some 2003 Burrowing Owl Cab Sauv in Banff. That was a real find and I may even share it!



Leave a Reply

