h1

Scooped by Uncorked and an Okanagan Meritage

December 15, 2006

Just as I was putting the finishing touches on some tasting notes (the Dr. L Riesling and the Three Thieves ‘Bandit’ Cabernet Sauvignon), I happened to read this week’s ‘Uncorked’ column in the Winnipeg Free Press. I saw, I read, I enjoyed and I realized that I got scooped.

Gifts for Wine Lovers

As usual, he did a good job, and I have to agree with his notes on both wines (and the yummy Cote du Rhone Villages he reviewed as well). Incidentally, some of his old columns are archived on the same site and are always worth reading. The Free Press has done a very good thing for their wine-loving readership by publishing his weekly column.

In other news, I was lucky enough to be down in Colorado last week, and brought a nice Canadian red to share. My aunt and uncle are fans of big California reds, and we shared a wonderful bottle of Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon at the Flagstaff House in Boulder. But that’s for another post. I brought this red down specifically to show them how good Canadian reds can be. And it was fine indeed!

NK’Mip Qwam Qwmt 2003 Meritage (Okanagan Valley)

This huge red (45% Merlot, 55% Cabernet Sauvignon and 18 months in French & American oak) from NK’Mip Cellars – Canada’s first (and only?) aboriginal-owned and operated winery – is dee-freakin’-licious. It’s loaded with chewy fruit flavours (plum & berry), with some nice hints of earth and tobacco in the very long finish. Lots of tannins but they were never overwhelming. And it could stand a few more years in the bottle (although it was tasty now).

I’ve had mixed reactions to their wines in the past, but the Qwam Qwmt Meritage puts to rest any doubt I might have had. This is a world-class Canadian red and I’d happily compare it favourably to the Osoyoos Larose.

Although someone should REALLY give me a bottle of the Larose for Christmas so I can (ahem) “compare” the two.

And for $24.99, it’s a steal. Pick up a bottle to stuff in the stocking of your favourite local wine blogger.

6 comments

  1. Is that a hint for the family members of wine bloggers?


  2. In your case it’s a requirement. Otherwise you will find that the cat has taken up residence in the guest room at Christmas…


  3. Will keep in mind!


  4. Good thinking. The cat is practicing her whine in anticipation of being your new room-mate.


  5. Great to see NK’Mip gaining some fans! They were one of my surprise favourites at a Pinot Blanc tasting, unfortunately others are difficult to find.


  6. For some reason, Manitoba is overrun with NK’Mip wines these days. I’ve seen the basic Merlot, Pinot Blanc and Chardonnay. Then we’ve got the higher-end Chardonnay, Meritage and apparently the Pinot Noir too (although that’s just a rumour – I haven’t seen that one myself).



Leave a Reply

