h1

Lindemans South Africa Chardonnay

February 22, 2007

Back from my trip without much wine news to report. Between family and work, it was a busy time. I did manage to enjoy a glass or two of tasty New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (thanks Mom!), and shared an old standby with some good friends – but that’s about it.

Luckily, I returned home to a real treat. The MLCC is stocking Lindemans (of the Australian ‘Bin XX’ series fame) new South Africa line. They are carrying the Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz. Of course, being a fan of all things new and different (yet – in this case – strangely familiar), I just had to try some. 

In the glass, it’s greener than the Bin 65 Chardonnay is, and the nose shows off apples rather than the typical Lindemans tropical fruit. I got a little bit of oak in the mouth along with more green apples, some Old World tartness and a much longer finish than I expected. And it is a Lindemans wine, so there was a hint of sweetness on the finish too (balanced out by the acidity). There was even a hint of that elusive South African earthiness that sometimes turns up even in their whites.

It wasn’t hugely complex, but for $11.49, I’d say it’s better than the Bin 65 Chardonnay. Lindemans has always been a reliable brand and this bottle showed off varietal and regional characteristics for a good price. If you’ve never tried South African wine before, I might recommend something else (like the Graham Beck Chardonnay or even the ‘Goats do Roam’ White). But if you’re looking for a cheap and cheerful white wine to enjoy, this is a good bet.

9 comments

  1. I have heard a lot about the Goats do Roam reds, but not the whites. What grapes are in that one? Approx. price point on that one?


  2. The Goats do Roam White is around $11ish here in MB, and according to their website (fairview.co.za), the 2006 vintage had the following grapes:

    Chenin Blanc (28%), Crouchen Blanc (20%), Semillon (19%), Viognier (17%) and Clairette Blanche (16%).

    It’s a Rhone-style blend, and reminds me of the Vielle Ferme whites in style. Well worth the price during the summertime.


  3. What is the best wine shop in Winnipeg? I have been to the Kenaston wine market and the MLCC by the big mall – any other suggestions? I will be visiting soon and I always try to buy something.


  4. It really depends on what you’re looking for. Now I’m more than a little biased here, but I think that the Kenaston Wine Market is one of your best options.

    But if you’re down in St. Vital or the South End, you should really stop at Banville & Jones (near the St. Vital Mall). DeLuca’s (on Portage Avenue at Ruby) is worth a trip if you’re in the area too. The staff there is particularly sharp, and they know their stuff. They have some nice new Italian and Spanish wines coming in. Their hours are limited though (M-Th, 9-6, F 9-9, Sat 10-6 and closed on Sundays), so be forewarned.

    As for the MLCC’s, the single best one is at Grant Park Mall. It’s worth going out of your way as they have the largest selection of all MLCC outlets. The MLCC at Madison Square (near Polo Park) has a decent ‘Fine Wine’ boutique, and the guy running it really knows his stuff. Plus he usually has a bottle or two open for sampling. he’s not there all the time though, so it’s hit or miss.


  5. I like Kenaston, I have been to DeLuca’s, and I have been to the MLCC across from Polo Park, but I have not been to the others. Thanks for the tips!


  6. Hi A: I left a brief review of the various private shops on my blog (and a link to yours). Thanks for the tips, although I missed Banville and Jones – next time.


  7. Absolutely loved the Lindeman’s Chardonnay!
    We had it for dinner at a World Trade Council meeting in Wichita, Kansas, featuring South Africa! What a find! Hope I can but it locally…


  8. Just thought I’d let you know that your site is almost illegible. I go to it when I Googled for reviews of the Lindeman South Africa Chardonnay.I have a 19″ monitor set to a resolution of 1152 x 870 and your text is just microscopic. Your site looks interesting but I’d never explore it any further because almost nothing can be read.
    Just thought you’d want to know.

    – Rob


  9. Sorry that you weren’t able to read the site. I’m using a standard WordPress template and haven’t changed any of the display settings.

    Anyone else have trouble reading the text?



Leave a Reply

