h1

Buried in work – no time for wine

March 21, 2007

I’m neck-deep in work right now, and haven’t had much of a chance to enjoy wine lately. So in lieu of an actual post, here are some tips and observations:

  •  The Yali Sauvignon Blanc and Yali Syrah (both $11.66 at the MLCC) are amazing. More to follow on them, but they are some of the best wines under $12 that I’ve tried recently. In fact, they are some of the best wines under $15 that I’ve tried recently. They are made by Chile’s Viña Ventisquero
  • Kudos to the owners of the recently-opened Oui Bistro (in the old Decanters space facing Old Market Square). Their wine list is entirely French, with the exception of one well-chosen page. The wine prices are a little high, but no worse than what the competition is charging. The food is good too (what non-Italian restaurant has the courage to put rabbit on a Winnipeg menu?) and they have a good old-school seafood platter. Pair that with one of the two Loire Valley whites they have by the glass!
  • If you’re looking for a good Malbec for the upcoming BBQ season, the private stores are carrying the Alamos Malbec for around $14. It’s big, beefy, brooding and oh-so-good. Pair it with a chunk of charred Manitoba beef next time you light up the grill. If you’re going veggie, try it with some charred eggplant and portobello mushrooms.
  • The 2005 vintage of the Pasqua Primitivo (which I raved about earlier) continues to wow the crowds. I did a tasting last weekend where it once again came out on top.
  • As spring finally kicks in here (as evidenced by the mud splatters on my shoes), my thoughts and posts will probably turn to white wine again. There are some neat new ones on the market here, so I’ll have to (ahem) do some research and get back to you.
  • The Winnipeg Wine Festival is coming up in early May. It’s always fun, so if you’re looking for a chance to try dozens of different wines while surrounded by hundreds of tipsy revellers, this is your chance. Seriously, it’s a really good time and for a good cause. Don’t miss it. And yes, I will be working there (incognito of course).
  • I’m off to Toronto for a weekend in mid-April. Does anyone have a suggestion for a can’t miss restaurant wine list while I’m there? I’m helping my sister move into her new condo, so some place low-key and casual around Queen West (I think) is probably best.

Semi-regular posting will probably resume in early April. Until then, visit some of the fine sites I’ve linked to on the sidebar.

6 comments

  1. Hey! I am on Queen W and have a million ideas… Let me do a quick faves list for you and I’ll post in a day or two.


  2. And the Wpg Wine Fest was a pleasant surprise. Was there 2 years ago on a friend’s pass, so got the official LC lunch and trades-only tasting afternoon before the unwashed hoardes were let in the door. Was great day.


  3. Any tips you have would be much appreciated. Turns out I’ll be around College & Bathhurst, if you’ve got any thoughts for that area (which if I remember is only a few blocks up from Queen W anyways).


  4. I definitely recommend a stop at Jamie Kennedy’s Wine Bar (http://www.jkkitchens.com/v3/restaurants.html). Cheers!


  5. Yep, good call Joe. The nicest part about the Kennedy Wine Bar is that you can order a variety of glass sizes so that you can taste much more across the meal.


  6. Thanks for the recommendation Joe. I’ve heard good things from others too, so it looks like a fine choice. And it looks like an easy cab ride from where I’m staying.



Leave a Reply

