h1

The best Pinot Grigio in the world…

July 30, 2007

Ca’ di Frara “Backward Vintage” Pinot Grigio (2005).

Okay, maybe the title of this post isn’t entirely accurate. I haven’t tasted every Pinot Grigio out there, so I can’t say for sure that this is the best in the world. But I sure have tasted an awful lot of watery, bland Pinot Grigio. More than enough to make me nervous about tasting outside my comfort zone (usually Cavit or Pasqua). 

So when I walked into DeLuca’s and heard about this wine, I was a little skeptical at first. Late harvest Pinot Grigio at 14.5% ABV for $18? But I was looking for an interesting white wine for a tasting party and this seemed just quirky enough to work. 

I chilled it down and brought it to the party, where it got some funny looks. But everybody loved it. In the glass, it was a beautiful rich golden colour (again with the Viognier comparison). The nose showed off rich tropical fruits (yes, this was a Pinot Grigio) and in the mouth it was rich and delicious with more tropical fruit flavours. It really was the best Pinot Grigio I’ve ever tried.  

Had I tried it in a blind tasting, I would have pegged it for a Viognier or some obscure Italian varietal that nobody had ever heard of before. Maybe, if I was on a roll, I might have guessed that it was an Alsatian Pinot Gris with a touch of bottle age. It was that rich.

The wine comes from the Oltrepo Pavese region, which is in south-western Lombardy, a region normally known for things other than wine. If this is any indication of the wines from that region, I’d love to try some more. And the producers have a number of other interesting wines up on their website. I’m not sure if they’re available here in Winnipeg, but you might want to check out DeLuca’s.  Be sure to pick up a bottle of this while you’re there.

3 comments

  1. It was nice to see you come out! A tasty treat indeed!


  2. It was a fun time and very good to see everyone. I think these should become regular events!


  3. Well the title certainly got my attention. Sounds awesome – I haven’t had a Pinot Grigio in a while. This one is not available locally, so I will have to keep an eye out for it on my travels.



Leave a Reply

