h1

The end of summer Grenache extravaganza

September 4, 2007

For some reason, I found myself enjoying a lot of Grenache over the Labour Day long weekend, all courtesy of the fine folks at the MLCC. It’s a varietal that I didn’t use to pay much attention. But as more good Grenache-based wines are hitting the local market, I’ve become a convert. Here are two good examples which recently arrived on Winnipeg’s shelves.

Le Village du Sud Rose (France)

This is a new line from the Mont Tauch co-operative in south-western France. This particular wine is 100% Grenache Gris (OK, so it’s a mutated version of Grenache) with a screwtop closure. It’s nice, crisp, light and absolutely overflowing with luscious strawberry flavours.  A surprisingly long and dry finish makes it an excellent choice for a late-summer BBQ. 

For $10.68, I’d say it’s one of the  best values at the MLCC these days (aside from the sorely missed Michel Torino Malbec Rose). I just wish they had brought it in sooner than the end of August, as fall in Winnipeg is not necessarily rose weather. The MLCC is also carrying a Merlot from the same line, which was very nice (although not in the same category of lip-smacking deliciousness as the rose).

Castillo de Monseran Garnacha (Spain)

Another Grenache from the MLCC. I’m sensing a theme here. But this time it’s really Grenache (er, Garnacha) itself, not some mutant strain. This is a beautiful little Spanish wine, from the Cariena appellation in Spain. Again, it’s light and easy drinking, perfect for a lazy evening on the patio. I found tonnes of cherries on the nose, with more cherries and some delicious spicy flavours on the finish.

It’s nothing fancy, and I wouldn’t bother ageing it for more than a year or two. But right now, this wine is a great choice for everyday enjoyment, or with your favourite Mediterranean dishes. For $11.15, I’d encourage you to pick up a case and make it your house wine this fall.

5 comments

  1. Hi A

    I’ve sent you a Gmail


  2. If I tell you how cheap good wine is here in France it’ll make you cry.


  3. yes, I’ve heard how ridiculously cheap good wine (especially rose) can be in France. It brings tears to my eyes when I think about it!


  4. I’ve been indulging in the Oeil-de-Perdrix here in Switzerland this week. Dry rosé usually made with Pinot Noir.


  5. Caymus used to make a ridiculously cheap California version of Oiel de Perdrix from Pinot Noir. I don’t know if they still do, but it was some of the best rose I’ve ever tried.



Leave a Reply

