h1

Wine Resolutions for 2008

January 2, 2008

I’ve never been very good at keeping New Year’s resolutions. But when it comes to wine, I think the resolutions are a lot easier to make and keep. So in honour of the New Year, I’ve made four simple resolutions for 2008.

1) Give Portugal the credit it deserves

I have been really impressed with the Portuguese wines I tried in the last year. From the basic $10ish wines, up to some higher-end Douro Valley reds, I have loved them all. It’s time to feed that love.

2) Enjoy more Italian wines

Keeping the Mediterranean theme going, I plan on enjoying more of Italy’s finest in 2008. For years I was a bit of a snob about Italian wine, probably because I didn’t have the confidence to navigate the different regions and grape varieties. Not any more and I’m making up for lost time!

3) Drink more dry rosé

It’s easy to make this promise in January, when it’s -30something with the wind chill. Rosés are the ultimate hot-weather wines for me, so I think my resolution might be more about wanting warm weather than anything else. But I don’t think I’ll have any trouble with this one. When the first warm day arrives here (mid-April), I’ll be on my sunporch with a bottle of dry rosé.

4) Keep enjoying wine

I worry sometimes that I’m taking wine too seriously and am forgetting what’s really important. In the end, wine is all about personal taste and enjoyment. I’m sharing my opininons of wines I happen to enjoy. I don’t want to over-analyze them, or get caught up in numerical scores. To me, it’s all about having fun and I don’t ever want to lose sight of that.

On this note, I rang in the New Year with a bottle of the Peller Estates Signature Series Ice Cuvee ‘Classic’. It was good, although the Icewine flavours were much stronger than I expected. In the glass, it showed a nice bead, with a strong hint of honey on the nose (that pesky icewine again). The mouth was softer than I expected, with icewine flavours dominating and a nice long acidic finish redeemed it.

I got this as a Christmas present, so I don’t want to know how much it cost, but it’s available here at the MLCC.

The wine didn’t go so well with the appetizers at dinner (shaved fennel salad with smoked salmon and Oka cheese), but the remnants of the bottle were a perfect match for the chickpea and kale curry I hauled out of the freezer on New Year’s Day!

3 comments

  1. Sounds great A: I went on a tour of the Peller Estates a few years ago. Is the Ice Cuvee like the late harvest wines?

    RS


  2. No, it’s a sparkling wine with a bit of Icewine added to sweeten it up. It was pretty tasty on day 2.


  3. A, I hope you two can make it on the 16th. Come hungry loads of Perogies and such for Ukranian New Year.



Leave a Reply

