h1

Yali Reserva Shiraz

January 25, 2008

I’m still on the lookout for budget wines to beat the winter chill, and with that in mind, I picked a bottle of the Yali Reserva Shiraz (2006 vintage) the other night. As you’ll see, I’m now a big fan of this wine.

For the last few years, I’ve been impressed by the Chilean Shirazes (and Syrahs for that matter) that I’ve tried. They are generally well-priced and full of flavour. The only complaint I’ve had is that some of them don’t last too long. This wine is an exception and for $10.51 (@ your local MLCC), this is an amazing deal.

In the glass (and on my counter – whoops!) it showed off deep rich colours and the nose was packed full of spices and vanilla (the American oak was showing). In the mouth, I found lots of rich fruit flavours (wild blueberries and some almost over-ripe but very tasty plums), some earth, spices and well-balanced oak and tannins. The finish was a bit short, but it tasted so good that I didn’t care.

By the next day, the wine had softened a bit, but the fruit flavours really showed well, and some soft vanilla flavours came through. It was almost a different – but equally good – wine.

The Yali Shiraz (which shows up as Syrah on the company website) is from Vina Ventisquero. They aren’t too well-known in this part of the world, but I’ve now tried the Yali Reserva Shiraz, Merlot and Sauvignon Blanc (available at the MLCC) and the slightly higher-end Ventisquero Reserve Pinot Noir, Carménère and Sauvignon Blanc (available at private wine stores). With the exception of the Carménère (I’m not a fan), they were all excellent and really well-priced.

The MLCC has a habit of removing wines from the shelves if they aren’t selling enough and I hear they’re getting ready to update their selection. The Yali Merlot has already disappeared from my local store, which doesn’t seem to go through the Yali wines very quickly. So I’m going to do my part to bring those sales numbers up and I would encourage all of my local readers to do the same!

2 comments

  1. Hey A,

    Good to see you are blogging again. I missed reading your entries with my morning coffee. We’ll have to get you over for some wine soon, I have a some new treats I’d like to share with my wine aprrecitaing friends!

    M.


  2. I found lots of cherries in the mouth and a few candies in the nose. the aftertaste was of course made all of lumbermill.



Leave a Reply

