h1

Short and sweet

May 12, 2008

In an attempt to keep posting on a semi-regular basis, here’s a few short tidbits in lieu of more tasting notes.

  • The Grant Park MLCC is selling off excess Wine Festival wines. Not sure if the other MLCC stores are doing the same, but there’s a good supply of some interesting wines.
  • I picked up a Chilean rose from Carmen and an Italian Pinot Noir (from Bolla), both of which look very tasty.
  • The MLCC is having another clearance sale – starting today. I noticed some good wines being put out on display, including the ‘Le Freak’ Shiraz-Viognier and the whole range of Le Petit Bistro wines.
  • Sadly, the display also included the Fish Hoek Sauvignon Blanc, one of my all-time favourites. If this wine is being delisted, I will be stocking up tonight. I would encourage anyone who likes Sauvignon Blanc to do the same.

UPDATE:

Following a trip to my local MLCC, I have the following to report:

  • South Africa’s finest, the Fish Hoek is indeed being delisted, and it’s going for $8.99. Grab it now before I find every last bottle.
  • The excellent VF line (both the red and the white) from the Rhone Valley’s Perrin Family is also going out at $8.99 each.
  • Lots of Argentinian wines are available, and I suspect the new ones coming in to take their place will be at a higher price point
  • Other standouts spotted at the sale included the ‘Le Freak’, some good Australian wines (including the Deakin Shiraz) and a whole boatload of interesting European wines.

 

 

3 comments

  1. Hey there A. Long time no comment, but you have to check out what something I found at a site called Big Red Diary.

    Neat.

    http://sheenavision.blogspot.com/2008/06/wine-20.html


  2. “what something I found”?

    Cripes. Remind me not to post before a drink.


  3. My best posts come after a drink or two. And that word cloud is lots of fun. Thanks for pointing it out!



Leave a Reply

