h1

Creekside Sauvignon Blanc

June 20, 2008

I’ve always thought that Canada has a lot of potential to make good Sauvignon Blanc, but I’ve only tried a few that really impressed me. Here’s another good one to add to that list.

Creekside Estate is the winery who makes both the Mike Weir wines and the Wayne Gretzky Estate wines. Obviously they love golf and hockey and they can recognize a good marketing opportunity when they see one! They are located in Ontario’s Niagara region, near Jordan.

I was lucky enough to try their most recent Sauvignon Blanc vintage last night and I was really impressed. Most Canadian Sauvignon Blancs that I’ve had try to walk the middle ground between French austerity and California ripeness. But we don’t do it as well as South Africa does, and I’ve only found a few Canadian Sauvignons that really stand out. And they were all from BC, and aimed for a riper California style. So I’m happy to find a wine that takes the French side of things and runs with it.

The Creekside Sauvignon Blanc (2007 vintage) is very much in the French style. I found it extremely crisp and acidic, with a nice layer of fruit to soften it up. It’s very light, and shows off more grass and herbs than gooseberries or citrus with some well-balanced mineral notes on the long finish. Serve it icy-cold and paired with fish or shellfish on a hot summer evening.

It’s not available in Winnipeg yet, but will be arriving soon at some of the private wine stores. I understand that the price point will be around $17. For a good Ontario white, that’s reasonable and this wine is worth it. It’s a great summertime sipper and I’m going to pick some up when it comes in.

 

 

3 comments

  1. Hi,

    I am writing to you on behalf of Zephyr Wine Adventures and Open Wine Consortium to invite you to attend the first-ever North American Wine Bloggers Conference scheduled for October 24-26 in Sonoma County, California. This conference will be a chance for wine bloggers – those who write about wine or about the wine industry – to meet each other, discuss our impact on the world of wine, and have a great time. We have put together a fantastic conference that includes two dinners, two lunches, educational seminars, a Grand Tasting, a Live Wine Blogging event, keynote speakers including Gary Vaynerchuk and Alice Feiring, and a Vineyard Walk all at a subsidized price of only $95.

    Please see http://www.WineBloggersConference.org for details and to register. We have limited conference and hotel space, so please don’t wait to reserve your spot.

    If you would like to be involved as a sponsor of the Conference to have your wine tasted, evaluated, and blogged about by participants, please make sure to see the Sponsors page. For only $250, you can become a Winery Sponsor and have 100 bloggers writing about your wine.

    Whether you can join us or not, please consider promoting the conference by writing about it on your blog. Please contact me and I will send you a small conference logo for you to use. Also, if you would like to sign up for Zephyr Wine Adventures’ Travels With Wine e-newsletter, please visit http://www.TravelsWithWine.com and http://www.OpenWineConsortium.org. We would also love to swap Blogroll links with you.

    Please let me know if you have any questions and I hope to see you at the conference!

    Sincerely,

    Yael Borofsky

    Zephyr Adventures
    1-888-758-8687
    http://www.ZephyrAdventures.com


  2. Hey A,

    Glad you liked the 2007 Sauvignon, it’s just starting to come out of it’s bumpy bottle shock period. In addition to my “duties” over at Grape-Juice, I’m also the Assistant Winemaker at Creekside, so I would be absolutely tickled to take you on a tour and taste through our reserve/experimental bottlings.


  3. Hi Erin,

    I didn’t realize you worked at Creekside. And I loved this wine, so if it’s just coming out of bottle shock now, I can hardly wait to see what it’s like in a few months.

    I think there are a number of other Creekside wines due to hit this market soon, so watch for more posts. And I may take you up on your kind offer the next time I’m down in Niagara.

    A



Leave a Reply

