h1

Montresor ‘Nero del Nago’ 2004

July 13, 2008

I”m a big fan of Italian reds, even more so in the summertime. I like their acidity and their food-friendliness. When the weather heats up and I feel like a glass of something cool, a few minutes in the fridge can actually bring out more flavours. And every once in awhile, I find a real treasure in the Italian section.

The ‘Nero del Nago’ (2004 vintage) from Montresor is one of those finds. It’s a blend of Corvina (one of the main component grapes of Valpolicella), Cabernet and Merlot. I came across the 2004 vintage while looking for a pizza wine at DeLuca’s.

I’ve always had good luck with blends of Italian and “international” grapes (a.k.a SuperTuscans, although not always from Tuscany). Wines like the Da Luca Primitivo-Merlot or Banfi’s “Collepino” Sangiovese/Merlot blend have always treated me well. So when I saw this wine right by the cash register, my day (a windy, rainy, cold Saturday spent mostly at work) suddenly looked a whole lot better.

The label boasted of plentiful tannins, although I didn’t pick up a lot of them. Instead, I found the wine refreshingly crisp, with sweet cherries, earth, a hint of spice and some cedar on the nose. In the glass, it showed off the same, with floral notes, some hints of tobacco and a really long cherry finish. There were some oak flavours going on, but they were muted by the fruit. And for a wine that was harvested almost four years ago, there was still a lot of fruit going on, although it had that delicious Italian earthiness to balance it out.

This wine is available at DeLuca’s for $13.78 (before tax). It did go very well with pizza, but I think it could also stand up to grilled red meat. I wouldn’t pair it with a heavy BBQ sauce, but a simple grilled steak would go very well.

One comment

  1. Dear Pegwine,
    Interesting Post, How does Montresor get Fortunato to get the idea of going down his cellar?
    Cheerio
    Holen Sie sich jetzt bei Onlineabschluss tolle Zugaben der DSL trotz Schufa Anbieter. DSL trotz Schufa vergleichen und sparen



Leave a Reply

