h1

Summertime faves

August 15, 2008

 I suppose I should apologize once again for being so slack with my postings here. I would love to keep to a regular posting schedule, but my day job gets in the way. And even though I’ve been on vacation for nearly a week now, I can only muster up enough energy for a few quick tasting notes!

Anyways, without further rambling, here are some of my current summertime favourites and I’m off to the patio.

Dona Dominiga Rose (2007)

I’m not normally a huge fan of the Dona Dominiga line, but this rose is a summertime staple in my fridge. The blend changes from year to year. Last year it was a Cabernet/Carmenere blend, but this year it’s a Syrah/Carmenere blend. Most private wine stores carry this one for around $12.

It’s very fragrant (strawberries and floral aromas), very dry and very tasty. I picked up more strawberries and some spicy notes along with lots of crisp acidity. There were even a few tannins lurking in the corners of this wine, making it a great match with food.

La Vielle Ferme White (2007)

Hailing from the Cotes du Ventoux, this cheap and cheerful white blend is one of my year-round favourites. It’s widely available (MLCC and private stores) and costs well under $12. The 2007 vintage has just arrived in Manitoba and it’s perfect for summertime. The accompanying red is just as good.

When I taste this, I typically get some floral aromas on the nose, with a hint of fresh peaches (probably from the Viognier) and some crisp acidity and mineral flavours in the mouth. It’s not as oily as some other Rhone wines are and it packs a lot of flavour for the price. Not only that but it will last for a few days in the fridge without fading too much.

Due Tigli Sangiovese (NV)

For $10.50, this is hard to beat. You’d never guess it, but this is a great summertime red. Drop it in the fridge for 20-30 minutes and you’ve got a patio pounder on your hands. It’s light (in colour and taste), crisp and refreshing, just like a bowl of fresh cherries. It’s only available at DeLuca’s and is worth the trip.

Fess Parker ‘Lot 81’ Frontier Red (2006 or 2007?)

Yes, this is made by the same Fess Parker who played Davy Crockett on TV. That was before my time, so the “star” connection doesn’t really resonate with me. But the wine is frontierliciously good even if you’ve never seen him on TV.

This is the ultimate BBQ wine. The lot changes year to year, but based on other tasting notes, it seems to stick pretty close to the standard Rhone Ranger formula with a few extras (Petite Sirah in this case). This vintage is a blend of Syrah, Grenache, Petite Sirah, Mourvedre, Cinsault and Carignan. It’s full-bodied, rich and ripe with lots of luscious fruit flavours (I get plums and blackberries) and some neat spicy notes on the finish. Dee-licious!

Leave a Reply

