h1

Canada’s archaic wine laws

September 18, 2008

There was a great article in yesterday’s Globe and Mail about the federal laws covering the shipping of wine.

I rarely comment on the laws or politics surrounding wine and liquor in general, but I couldn’t pass this chance up. As someone who makes a habit of bringing back wine when I visit other provinces, it’s nice to see the issue getting some media attention.

Wine drinkers are voters too

Will it make a difference? I can’t imagine that reforming liquor laws is high on the list of priorities for any of the candidates in the current election. But it would be nice to see some changes here.

I’d love to be able to order wine legally from other provinces, but I don’t expect it to happen soon. I was once lucky enough to have a case of wine shipped to me from a noted B.C winery.

But if it wasn’t for the fact that a family friend owned the winery and was willing to accept the risk – I would never have been able to enjoy the wine. That’s a shame, and the fact that the winery took a risk in shipping the wine to me reflects how out-of-touch our wine laws are.

I understand there are legal issues involved, but some American states seem to have no problem in doing this (although not all). For more information, check out this great site:

Wine Law in Canada & B.C

Leave a Reply

