h1

Much to look forward to!

November 26, 2008

Yes, it’s been a long time, but I’m going to stop making excuses. Those who know me will know why I’ve been quiet for so long.  And while there are no new tasting notes right now, you can expect a whole pile of them soon. I’ve got two good tastings coming up in the next few weeks.

This Saturday I’m attending “Any Port in a Storm”, an annual celebration of all things sweet, sticky and port-like. Oceans of sweet wine will be enjoyed and much chocolate and blue cheese will be consumed. I expect my teeth to hurt for days. If I can read my notes, I’ll post something the next day.

I’m bringing something a little different though, the “Le Souleilla’ Vin Doux Natural from Domaine de la Serre. It’s a Grenache-based VDN (2001 vintage) from the Maury AOC. I couldn’t find much information on the wine itself, but I did find this blurb about the region:

Located 20 kms from Perpignan or arid low-producting hillsides the vineyard of Maury is laid in terraces over by the Cathar castels facing the Mediterranean sea. This unique AOC wine whose power characteristic and strong fragances can not leave you unconcerned, comes from that exeptional soil and is elaborated according to ancestral methods with the black Grenache wine. Excellent for the dessert, especially with a chocolate cake.

Nevertheless as an aperitif, Maury AOC 18° completes with all the Porto Grand Cru.

Bad translations aside, I think this is going to be good! I’ll be pairing it with a huge slab of dark chocolate and I’ll have to find a way to roll myself home afterwards.

The next bright spot in my calendar is a tasting called “Joy to the World – Wine’s Gift to Humankind” which will happen a few Fridays from now in the depths of December. The theme is “celebrating the season by bringing our favourite wines”.

I’ve picked out the 2001 vintage of the Wolf Blass Grey Label Cabernet Sauvignon. It’s the last one in my cellar and I love this wine so much that I may shed a few tears when the bottle is empty. But I’ll console myself by enjoying the wines brought by the other folks at this tasting.

Leave a Reply

